Pinterest Legal Issues

I have to start off by saying that I’m starting to get addicted to Pinterest I’m a very visual person and Pinterest is all about the visuals. In a previous post I posted videos on how to set up an account and how to use Pinterest. Since then I usually take a portion of the day to explore the site for interesting images that lead to interesting sites. There is a large and diverse educational presence on Pinterest and I have found some interesting tech and ideas I plan on posting about in the future. Teachers are using it to find information, but they are also using it in their classes.

This post was going to be based on that topic, teachers using Pinterest in the classroom. But in doing research I came across some articles at The Daily Dot blog that talked about some troubling legal issue that may plague Pinterest and its users. In short, since you, the user are “pinning” images from sites that do not belong to you on your board, you could be held libel for copyright infringement. Pinterest’s site claims that if this happens, you are on your own. Yes, I’m paraphrasing, but that’s the gist of it. I am of course not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV.

Am I going to stop pinning, most likely not. I believe that all sites that revolve around sharing on the web have a period where their guidelines are finding their way towards what will make content owners and users of the service happy. So look for more articles on how you can use Pinterest in your classroom.

I have collected a number of excellent articles on this issue below. What are your thoughts on Pinterest?

Legal Issues
One of the first articles on the subject
http://ddkportraits.com/2012/02/why-i-tearfully-deleted-my-pinterest-inspiration-boards/

A follow up from the above article
http://ddkportraits.com/2012/02/my-date-with-ben-silbermann-following-up-and-drying-my-tears/

http://edudemic.com/2012/02/pinterest-delete/

http://www.dailydot.com/business/pinterest-copyright-infringementlegality-statement/

http://www.dailydot.com/business/pinterest-may-not-be-legal/

http://www.dailydot.com/business/pinterest-pin-responsibly-spinpicks/

My Pinterest Boards – Growing Daily
http://pinterest.com/kevinvolo/

6 thoughts on “Pinterest Legal Issues

  1. Class of 2000 Alum here- Anyways….I think the users of Pintrest have very little to worry about. If anything, the material can be be compared to the copyrighted information on YouTube. You tube has a policy and enforces it pretty well. That being said, the material owners will most def go after the site that is hosting them.

    the whole “you are on your own” thing wont float. Pin away!

  2. Kevin thanks for doing this. The COM 411: Communicating on Computer Networks class is using Pinterest as one of our the platforms we’re examining.

    The other platforms are Facebook [Social Network], Twitter [microblogging], Gmail [email\ and Google Groups [group discussion].

    What we’re working on is figuring out what to call Pinterest. Any ideas?

    • That’s a good question. I’ve been thinking about it on and off and the term Visual Tagging just popped into my head.

  3. Pingback: Pinterest – Updated Usage Policy « sunyitTechnologist
  4. Pingback: 16 Ways Educators Use Pinterest | sunyitTechnologist

Leave a Reply

